Disclosure: Some links in this article are affiliate links. We may earn a commission on qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you.
There is no single best laser engraver for tumblers, because the cup decides the machine. A powder-coated stainless tumbler is a coating-removal job, and any diode, CO2 or fiber source will strip that coating to the bare steel underneath. A bare stainless cup needs a 1064 nm fiber source, or a marking compound under a diode or CO2. Clear glass needs CO2: blue diode light passes through it, and a fiber laser cannot mark glass at all.
That is where most buying advice goes wrong. Ranking machines by the number in their names ignores the fact that the same wattage figure can describe the laser output, the electrical draw, or a combined multi-diode head. It also skips the two things that actually break a tumbler project: a rotary that does not fit the cup, and a machine whose safety class changes the moment you open it up to use that rotary.
Pick the laser type from your cup material, then the machine from the bed size, the rotary and the enclosure you can live with.
The cup decides the laser, not the number in the name
| What you are engraving | What marks it | What does not work |
|---|---|---|
| Powder-coated stainless | Any source — the beam removes the coating and exposes steel | Nothing in practice, but a diode is slower than CO2 or fiber |
| Bare stainless, aluminum, titanium | 1064 nm fiber, or a low-power IR module for shallow marking | Blue diode alone; CO2 without a marking spray |
| Clear glass | CO2 at 10.6 µm, which frosts the surface | Blue diode (the light passes through); fiber |
| A vinyl or PVC wrap | Nothing — never laser it | Every laser type |
The distinction between marking and engraving matters here. A 2 W IR module, like the one xTool sells for the S1, changes the surface of bare steel to a shallow depth — around 0.05 mm of maximum depth per xTool's own figures. A 20 W fiber source can emboss brass and copper. They are not the same purchase, even when both are described as "metal capable."
Wattage names need the same suspicion. Creality publishes a real optical column: the Falcon2 Pro 22W is 22 W optical with a 120 W machine draw, and the 40 W version is listed as "40W+1.6W." Sculpfun states explicitly that the S30 Ultra's 11, 22 and 33 W come from a single enhanced 6 W diode in a combined design. xTool's S1 page says "Laser Power 40W" with no optical figure. Unless a page says optical, read the number as part of the product name.
| Machine | Source | Working area | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| xTool S1 | 455 nm diode, optional 2 W IR module | 498 x 319 mm | Enclosed all-rounder for coated tumblers plus wood and leather |
| Creality Falcon2 Pro 22W | 455 nm diode, 22 W optical | 400 x 415 mm | Same job with a stated optical figure, at a mid price |
| Sculpfun S30 Ultra | 455 nm diode, 11/22/33 W names | 590 x 595 mm | Cheapest route to coated tumblers if you build the enclosure yourself |
| xTool P2S | 55 W CO2 glass tube | 600 x 305 mm | Clear glass and coated tumblers in one enclosed machine |
| OMTech K40+ | 45 W CO2 glass tube | 200 x 300 mm | Glass on a small bed |
| xTool F1 Ultra | 20 W diode + 20 W fiber | 220 x 220 mm | Bare stainless marked directly, no spray |
| Gweike G2 Pro | 30 W fiber at 1064 nm | 150 x 150 mm | Budget bare-stainless marking only |
Coated tumblers: three diode machines, three levels of enclosure
Diode machines dominate this job because the beam removes powder coat cleanly and the machines cost less than CO2. What separates them is how much safety comes in the box and how well the rotary is supported.
xTool S1. The S1 is the enclosed option that also handles flat wood, leather and dark acrylic, with a 498 x 319 mm bed on the 40 W version and 498 x 330 mm when the 2 W IR module is fitted. A conveyor plus an extra rail extends that to 470 x 3000 mm for long stock. The 10, 20 and 40 W diode modules all run at 455 nm, with a 650 nm red pointer; the optional 1064 nm IR module gives you occasional bare-metal marking with 0.03 x 0.03 mm spot size, but it is not a fiber head and it does not cut metal.
The enclosure claim deserves precision. Per xTool, the S1 is a Class 1 laser product only in Class 1 operating conditions: baseplate installed, or the riser base fitted with the doors closed. With the riser base and the conveyor feeder together it is not Class 1 and a Class 4 procedure applies. The machine also ships without safety goggles — xTool states plainly that goggles are sold separately, and its own eyewear table asks for OD6+ at the S1's full 40 W emission. Lid-open stop, emergency stop, key lock and flame detection are all present, and they are the reason the enclosure is worth paying for.
Software is the other compromise. LightBurn works, but only for basic operations — no module position control, no curved-surface mode. Rotary support comes through the RA2 Pro accessory, not in the base price.
Check the xTool S1 40W on Amazon
Creality Falcon2 Pro 22W. If you want a stated optical figure rather than a name, this is the cleanest one on the list: 22 W optical, 455 ±5 nm, a 400 x 415 mm bed and full enclosure. Creality lists it as Class 1 (FDA) alongside IEC60825 and CE; like every Class 1 enclosed diode it contains a Class 4 laser, so it stays Class 1 only while the lid is closed and the interlock is working, and you should still buy goggles that block 455 nm. LightBurn is supported, and the Rotary Kit Pro is an accessory rather than a bundle item. The 22 W head is the honest pairing for coated stainless; the 40 W version's "40W+1.6W" figure is a combined number and should not be read as a single 40 W beam.
Check the Creality Falcon2 Pro 22W on Amazon
Sculpfun S30 Ultra. The cheapest credible path to coated tumblers, with a 590 x 595 mm work area and a detachable glass eye shield. It is an open frame: no enclosure, no interlock, and Sculpfun does not state a laser class for it — assume a Class 4 source in the room and budget for an enclosure and extraction in your own planning. Per Sculpfun's 22 W manual, its roller rotary handles 5 to 150 mm in diameter and up to 230 mm in length, which may exclude the fattest 40 oz cups. Diode output is genuinely small per emitter, so deep single-pass marking is not what this machine is for; coating removal on curved stainless is.
Check Sculpfun S30 Ultra listings on Amazon
Glass: two CO2 options that actually frost the surface
A 10.6 µm CO2 beam fractures the surface of glass into a frosted mark. That is the only mechanism that works directly on clear glass. Blue diode light transmits straight through without leaving anything unless you coat the surface, and fiber sources cannot mark glass at all.
xTool P2S. A 55 W CO2 glass tube in an enclosed 600 x 305 mm cabinet with a camera, AI fire detection, tilt detection and a lid-open stop. xTool states Class 4 on the product page and on its comparison chart, and its safety page references Class I versions of some models — no Class I P2S was found among the product pages, so plan for a Class 4 device. LightBurn works, but camera and autofocus are not supported through it. The rotary attachment's cylinder range depends on the configuration: with the baseplate in place xTool lists 3 to 42 mm, which is below most tumbler diameters, so the riser configuration is the one you actually need.
Check the xTool P2S 55W on Amazon
OMTech K40+. A 45 W CO2 tube on a 200 x 300 mm bed — small, which limits you to one tumbler at a time and rules out long signs. OMTech sells a rotary package option and lists LightBurn compatibility, though LightBurn is not included. The class is not stated on the product page; treat it as a Class 4 source that needs its own vent route and CO2-rated eyewear.
Check the OMTech K40+ 45W on Amazon
Bare stainless: fiber, and nothing else will do
On uncoated stainless, a diode leaves nothing behind without help. The workaround is a marking compound or marking paper: spray or apply, let it dry, laser, then clean the cup. It works and it is what most diode owners do, but it adds a step per cup and a variable per cup, and consistency between batches depends on how evenly you applied it. A 1064 nm fiber source marks bare steel directly.
xTool F1 Ultra. Twenty watts of diode plus twenty watts of fiber in a galvo head, on a 220 x 220 mm field (220 x 500 mm with the conveyor), with 145 mm of clearance under the head for a standing cup. The fiber side marks bare stainless, titanium and aluminum directly, does colour marking on stainless and titanium, and cuts only thin metal — 0.4 mm brass, 0.3 mm stainless, 0.2 mm aluminum through repeated high-speed passes. The diode side handles coated tumblers, wood and acrylic.
Two behaviours to plan around. It is a Class 4 machine, and lid-open detection is off by default — with the lid up for a rotary job you are relying on the OD6+ goggles xTool does not include and staying at least 0.5 m away. And batch processing does not support curved surfaces, so every cup goes through the rotary one at a time. Autofocus tolerates only 0.5 mm of thickness deviation, and flame detection can false-trigger on some materials. For extraction, xTool specifies its AP2 purifier; the Desktop Air Purifier is not compatible.
Check the xTool F1 Ultra on Amazon
Gweike G2 Pro. Thirty watts of 1064 nm fiber on a 150 x 150 mm field, with a fully enclosed radiation-proof shell per Gweike's page, CE and FDA certificates listed, and LightBurn support. It is the least expensive way into direct bare-metal marking, and the trade-offs are exactly where you would expect: Gweike does not state a laser class for the line, sells its safety goggles separately on the G2, and the specification table published on the G2 Pro page is for the top 50 W model rather than the 30 W one. Buy it for bare stainless marking, not for powder coat and not for glass.
Check the GWEIKE G2 Pro 30W on Amazon
The rotary is where tumbler projects fail
A rotary holds the cup so the contact point stays at the focal distance while the cup turns. Two designs exist and they behave differently: a chuck grips the body from one end, a roller supports it on two wheels.
The gripping range is where the numbers get slippery. Figures for the xTool RA2 Pro give a chuck range of 0 to 100 mm, a roller range of 3 to 198 mm with extra risers, a sphere range of 25 to 100 mm and a ring range of 11 to 70 mm, while xTool's own P2 page describes the same family as handling up to 180 mm. Both can be right for different modes and models. Read the figure for the configuration you will actually use, with the baseplate or the riser fitted — the P2S numbers above show how much that changes.
Tapered cups are the classic failure. xTool acknowledges that its chuck can fail to hold a tumbler whose top is much wider than its base and recommends the roller with tail support instead. On the budget side, Sculpfun's roller stops at 150 mm in diameter. And rotary attachments differ in height between machines — measure the clearance inside your cabinet before ordering the attachment, not after.
Two safety consequences follow from using a rotary. Raising the machine for a taller cup can move it out of its Class 1 configuration, as it does on the S1 with the riser and conveyor together. And on machines where the lid has to be open to clear the cup, you are working without the interlock and the eyewear becomes the primary protection.
Safety as shipped
Class is a condition, not a badge. The xTool P3 is certified Class 1 and the xTool M2 is Class 1 per TÜV SÜD, but the P2S, F1 Ultra, F2 Ultra and F2 Ultra UV are Class 4 on their product pages. The Glowforge Aura is a Class 1 product that contains an embedded Class 4 laser. Sculpfun and Gweike do not state a class on the models here; treat them as Class 4 sources and buy accordingly.
Eyewear has to match the wavelength, and the three wavelengths in this article are not interchangeable: 455 nm blue diode, 1064 nm fiber or IR, and 10.6 µm CO2. xTool's own table asks for OD6+ on the S1 at 40 W and on the F1 Ultra at 20 W, and OD5+ on the P2 and P2S. The S1 ships without goggles, the Gweike G2 sells them separately, and the Sculpfun S9's box list contains none. A pair rated for 455 nm does nothing for a fiber head you add later.
Fumes are the other half of safety, and they are why the vinyl rule is not a suggestion. PVC and vinyl release hydrogen chloride when lasered, which becomes hydrochloric acid with airborne moisture, corrodes the machine and voids warranties. xTool instructs users not to process PVC, vinyl or chlorine-containing materials, and extraction does not make it safe — it just moves the acid. Tumbler wraps are frequently vinyl-type film, so check the material before the cup goes on the rotary.
Powder coat removal produces its own fume load. Route extraction outside or through a purifier regardless; an enclosed machine with no extraction only concentrates it in the room. Polished or curved steel reflects the beam: keep eyewear on, keep people and pets out of the room, and never run any of these machines unattended, because coated cups, wrap residue and nearby paper can ignite.
Glass failures: chipping, crazing and tempered blanks
The frost a CO2 laser leaves is a surface micro-fracture, so glass work is a settings discipline rather than a power contest. Chipping at the edge of a mark and crazing across it are controlled with low power, several passes and wet paper over the surface — and every setting should be dialled in on scrap from the same batch of glass, not carried over from a different supplier.
Skip tempered glass entirely. The internal stress means a thermal shock can shatter the piece, and no setting avoids that. Curved glass needs the same rotary or fixture that a tumbler does; there is no free-hand answer for a cylinder.
What to skip
The Glowforge Aura is not a tumbler machine. It is a 6 W, ~450 nm diode on a 12 x 12 in bed, flat only, with no rotary in its specification — the cups people engrave on it are done with homemade fixtures. It is a fine flat-bed craft cutter; it does not belong in this comparison.
Two purchases to avoid on the way: a fiber laser if everything you make is powder-coated stainless, because a diode removes coating at a fraction of the cost, and a 2 W IR module if bare metal is your business rather than an occasional job, because it marks shallow and cannot cut.
How to choose in one minute
Powder-coated stainless only: an enclosed diode with a rotary, and the S1 is the one that comes with the interlock, key lock and flame detection already in the cabinet. Clear glass anywhere in your product line: CO2, and the P2S if the budget allows a 600 x 305 mm enclosed bed. Bare stainless: fiber, and nothing else — the F1 Ultra if you also need coated tumblers and flat work from the same machine, the G2 Pro if bare metal is the whole job.
Whatever you choose, price the rotary, the matching eyewear and the extraction route into the decision. Those three items decide whether the machine earns its keep.



